The English Baccalaureate (EBacc) is a way in which the Academy is judged by OFSTED. It will be one on four measures used from 2016. Whilst it is not compulsory,  Ofsted will take it into account when inspecting the Academy.

The measure shows where students have gained a C grade or above across a core of academic subjects at key stage 4.

EBacc subjects

The EBacc comprises:

  • English
  • mathematics
  • history or geography
  • the sciences
  • a language

To pass the English element of the EBacc students either need to:

  • get an A* to C pass in English GCSE
  • get an A* to C pass in English language GCSE and achieve a grade in English literature GCSE

To pass the Humanities element of the EBacc students need to gain either :

  • A* to C in History              or
  • A* to C in Geography

To pass the science element of the EBacc students either need to:

  • get an A* to C pass in core and additional science
  • take 3 single sciences (from biology, chemistry, computer science and physics) and get an A* to C pass in 2 of them
  • get A* to C passes in science double award

Computer science GCSE will be included in the science element of the EBacc for the first time from 2014.

To pass the Languages element of the EBacc students need to

  • get an A* to C in any language (French, German or Spanish)

Why is the Ebacc important to your son/daughter?

The English Baccalaureate – though not a qualification in itself – is a measure of success in core academic subjects; specifically English, Mathematics, History or Geography, the sciences and a language.

These are subjects most likely to be required or preferred for entry to university degree courses and ones that will keep the most doors open for students in the future

Universities will be most likely to look for specific GCSE grades in English, Maths and possibly different sciences – but these subjects are compulsory to take anyway.

The top universities in the country are grouped together in an organisation called the Russell Group. There are 24 of them. These universities like to see that students have a broad range of subjects and would want students to achieve at least a grade B in most of the EBacc subject areas.

For more information regrading the EBacc contact Mr. R. Baker; ralph.baker@taw.org.uk 

Translate »